glow
Happy New Year, Happy Anniversary!!!

I started working on this entry at 8:25 pm...it's now 1:37 am. Just so you know... I put some effort into it. Because today is my 1 year anniversary of writing in this journal! That is the longest I've ever kept up doing anything. So thanks for reading, and keeping up with me this year. I figured I'd do that new years survey that has been going around, and use it as a look back at a year of this journal and a year of my life. It's been an odd one.

And without much further ado, the survey:

1. What did you do in 2003 that you'd never done before?
* Got into a car accident
* Went to a movie alone
* Saw a 'broadway' worthy play in toronto
* Became a panellist at the diarist awards
* Got a request to come for jury duty
* Slept for close to 40 hours
* Bought a car
* Worked seven 12 hour shifts straight through
* Started going to a church that's held in a movie theatre
* Made predictions for 2004
* Found out what dr. claw looks like
* Spent a 14 hour blackout at work
* Wrote a guest entry
* Sent out random greeting cards to strangers
* Lost a close friend because of politics
* Filled out a diaryland survey for every letter of the alphabet
* Wrote 100 things about me and posted it online
* Wrote in this journal for 1 whole year!!

2. Did you keep your new years' resolutions, and will you make more for next year?
I don't really believe in resolutions but this year I have made some goals that I may or may not achieve. I'll let you know how it worked out next year.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?
My sister and brother in law have a brand new baby girl!!

4. Did anyone close to you die?
No one close to me, but a friend's husband died and it hit me pretty hard.

5. What countries did you visit?
I stayed in the country the whole year long but I did get to travel back home twice!

6. What would you like to have in 2004 that you lacked in 2003?
An education, a home of my own, and freedom from bills

7. What date from 2003 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?
I don't remember dates so much as I remember moments. Most of the moments listed under question 1 will be remembered for a very long time. But if I had to pick a date from 2003 to remember it will be December 22 because that is Krysia's birthday. I wouldn't be a very good aunt if I forgot.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?
Sticking it out, putting up with the crap at work, living here even though I would have rather been elsewhere.

9. What was your biggest failure?
Losing a friend because of an argument. And not having better control over my finances.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?
Several colds, coughs, and flus but nothing serious thank God.

11. What was the best thing you bought?
I bought a car which in turn saved my job.

12. Whose behaviour merited celebration?
My friends and family for sticking by me even in my moodiness.

13. Whose behaviour made you appalled and depressed?
It isn't right to point fingers so I won't name names. There are a few people who have hurt me this year but I don't believe in throwing stones. Whats done is done.

14. Where did most of your money go?
Bills Bills Bills and Entertainment (oops)

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?
The birth of my first niece. Going home in May. Spending Time with my nephew this summer.

16. What song will always remind you of 2003?
Again, I don't remember dates so well. It will be more memories of an era or memories of a moment. And currently I can't think of any one song that sticks out as this years theme.

17. Compared to this time last year, are you happier or sadder?
I think I'm happier, though just as confused.

ii. thinner or fatter?
Ugh. Fatter.

iii. richer or poorer?
Richer in every way.

18. What do you wish you'd done more of?
Saving money. self improvement.

19. What do you wish you'd done less of?
Whining, complaining, being sick, eating, stressing out, spending.

20. How will you be spending Christmas?
I spent it with my dad's family. It was fantastic.

22. Did you fall in love in 2003?
No, but that doesn't bother me as much as it seems to bother other people. I figure it will happen when it happens.

23. How many one night stands?
None, that's just horrid.

24. What was your favourite TV programme?
I still think the simpsons is great.

25. Do you hate anyone now that you didn't hate this time last year?
I don't hate anyone, I have disliked people, loathed people, but never hate.

26. What was the best book you read?
Harry Potter 5 was pretty good. I've read so many books, it's hard to keep track.

27. What was your greatest musical discovery?
Switchfoot and Erin is always introducing me to something great.

28. What did you want and get?
A car, some bills paid off, a couple of trips home, all my christmas gifts

29. What did you want and not get?
A laptop, a digital camera, to go home for good.

30. What was your favourite film of this year?
Finding Nemo

31. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?
I turned 21 and celebrated by working all night and spending the day on my own since everyone else was at the cottage.

32. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?
Less debt, more love, less stress, more patience

33. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2003?
Same as always, I wear what I like. Mostly jeans and t-shirts or hoodies.

34. What kept you sane?
God. Singing. Going Home.

35. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?
hmm... there are several really good looking celebrities right now. I didn't really have a crush or anything.. oh except for Brian Dietzen but that only lasted about 3 minutes.

36. What political issue stirred you the most?
hmm... the war? duh!

37. Who did you miss?
Kevin. Zian. Cordelia. Old friends.

38. Who was the best new person you met?
I met Moe, he's pretty funny and amusing at work. He's about the only person I can think of that I met this year that I don't mind being around. (haha)

39. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2003.
This year is only what you make it

40. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year.
Gone - Switchfoot
"She told him that she believes in living bigger than she's living now But her world keeps spinning backwards and upside down."



the shadow | random | the glow

this one was written 2004-01-01 @ 12:00 am by dee