glow
The Things I Do To Avoid Other Things

Q: Where did God come from?

A: God by definition is the "uncreated One". If he "came" from anywhere, if he had a beginning, whoever or whatever created him would be considered the real God. Then one would have to ask who created THAT God, etc. At some point we have to end at an eternal being that did not have a beginning and that is who we call God. Note: If people have a problem believing that someone or something could always exist without having a beginning, then God makes even MORE sense... because if you don't believe that HE existed forever, then you are left having to believe that the material, physical universe just existed forever and had no beginning. I know people will point to the "big bang", but then we still have to ask who or what started that? And who or what created the giant mass of stuff that went "bang" in the first place? God? If not God, then you have to believe that material matter has God-like ability to exist forever and/or self-generate. Seems more reasonable to just believe in God at that point.

-see themeetinghouse.ca for more info

I enjoy this church so much I went twice today (kind of). They have this praise and worship night, called "the attic", once a month. So I went to that tonight. It was great. I love the energy, and the fact that no one really cares if you sing well, or if you can't dance, because that's not what it's about.

On my way home from that I decided I didn't just want to go home. So I stopped off at my local Silvercity and saw Under The Tuscan Sun. I must say I was quite amused. The whole time I kept thinking: "mom would love this movie, I'll have to call her and tell her to see it." and "I'm glad there are only four other people in this theatre or this could be a little embarassing. Me and my stupid idea to do something alone!" This was the first time I've ever gone to a movie alone... and we all know how much I hate to do things alone. So I'm pretty impressed with myself. Three things I did on my own today, church, The Attic, and a movie. I'm beginning to think I'm pretty good company.

In other news, EVERYONE is super excited that I'm going back to school. This is a little annoying. Everything I do becomes a huge event. I'm a very private person and the little celebratory dances they all do freak me out a little. (No, they don't really dance, but they still freak me out.) I mean, is everyone elses life so boring that they have to discuss every event in my life, for at least a week?! It's absurd. But at least they're not calling me because they're "concerned about my future. You're such a smart girl." Ugh. Just leave me be!

I know, I know, someday I'll appreciate the meddling, either that or die from suffocation.



the shadow | random | the glow

this one was written 2003-10-27 @ 12:34 am by dee