glow
There's No Such Thing As Infinite

I was in the car on my way to work and I was thinking about what to write today (as I do every time I drive). I thought of a few things I was going to write about... I can't even remember now. Because I am reminded again of how "not about me" this world really is.

When I got to work today Jackie ("The Jack") and Sabrina weren't here (They are best friends and usually drive in together). I figured they had car trouble or were running late. No big deal. Then Glenda and Karl came in and I figured The Jack and Sabrina had a hard weekend or something and were sick or whatever.

So I'm sitting in the meats office with Lynn and our boss calls down and tells Lynn to come up to the office. She figured she was getting in trouble for something. Lynn comes back down and tells me to go up to the office right away.

I get there and I'm told that the reason the girls aren't in tonight is because this morning Jackie's boyfriend (common-law husband) of 9 years passed away. He was taking a nap and woke up choking. Apparently he had a massive heart attack. He was only 30 years old. I can't even begin to tell you how terrible this is.

I just... What am I supposed to say? What can I do? There is NOTHING that can make this better. Nothing can fix this. I'd cut off my own leg if it meant Jackie could have Jeff back. They were talking about getting married. They were going to buy a house. She didn't even get to say good-bye.

It just makes everything else seem so... stupid. random. pointless. How can I sit here an complain about anything? Even the biggest thing in the world to me is nothing compared to this. I just... feel so helpless. I would do anything to make this go away for her.

Dear God,

She's supposed to be planning her wedding... not his funeral.



the shadow | random | the glow

this one was written 2003-08-11 @ 8:43 am by dee