glow
The Distraction Under The Bed

A while back, I posted a couple of children�s stories I wrote on here. This is the third in the series. You can find the first two here:

Welcome To The Imagination

The Truth About Our Dryer


Teddy and me were going to fix the dish washer and fight the spot monster. But last night before bed, I got a little distracted. There is something under my bed.

I wasn't sure what it was but I could really hear it. It sounded like a car sound and sometimes it sounded like coughing.

Mommy said there is nothing to be scared of but, I'm not so sure. Teddy is scared too because he's never heard of a bed that grumbles and coughs.

and sometimes I think I see something. It comes out for a second. Real quick. Maybe it�s a alligator, or a goo monster, or maybe even a Rytranasorus Rex! That is very scary.

Teddy decided we needed to be brave and find out. I said "Ok, but only in the daytime." That's when it sleeps. I think. I'm not sure cause it only scares us in the night. Sometimes I wonder what it does all the time and why it's under our bed and not mommy and daddy's. Today we will find out. Last night we were sleeping in mommy and daddy's room so it didn't eat us. Just in case.

In the morning we had breakfast and got ready to go. Teddy said we should take our Misty 2000 water gun and our flashlight, because even in the daytime it's dark under there.

Then we had to sneak to the bed. Teddy made me go first. It was dark and we couldn't find anything. So we took out our flashlight and crawled under a little more. In the very back corner I could see some shadows that looked like a monster so we sneaked over and were very quiet.

But we didn't see a monster there, it was just an old dump truck. So that's where it went! We have looked for it a long time. So we took it out and played trucks. We forgot to look for the monster.

When we remembered again it was nighttime. Mommy said we should try to sleep in our bed tonight. Teddy and me got on to our bed fast so it wouldn't bite our toes. Then Teddy said it would be a good idea to jump on the bed, just in case it was under there. We would scare it away. Then we got tucked in.

When mommy and daddy left, Teddy crawled over the dresser to get our flashlight. Since the monster was being quiet tonight maybe we could get him now.

so we peaked over the edge of the bed and turned on our flashlight. Nothing was there. So we got out of bed and crawled slow to the edge. Teddy said maybe it wasn't awake yet. Or maybe it didn't know what time it was cause that monster was very quiet. But we were brave so we went under.

we crawled to the very back and saw a big black shadowy thing that looked like the monster. Teddy got scared and bumped his head. Then where the shadow was, we saw a cave. Teddy hit a button that we didn't know was there. It was still dark and we were scared. We put our flashlight out, got our water gun ready to shoot, then we went inside.

There was lots of shelves and beside the shelves was a door. The shelves were filled with toys and all of them had a different name on it. Then teddy saw one with my name on it.

I'm learning the letters and I know how to write my name cause it's only four letters. L-U-K-E. That's not my whole name but I can't spell so much yet. And I know Teddy's Name too. Teddy Luke's Bear. Cause when Daddy looks for him he says "Have you seen Luke's Bear?". Sometimes daddy can't find him because Teddy's a good hider. But he never wins. I always do.

Only my first name was on the shelf. And some of my toys that I thought I lost were in nice rows on the shelf.

Teddy and me went down the long hallway till we saw a big room with a big chair and a big rug.

Then we saw the big monster. He kind of looked like daddy in the morning, but more hairy and he looked like a dragon too. He was kind of smelly and we had to cover our noses but he didn't see us.

He was holding something shiny. It was my favorite jewel that I lost last week.

I wanted to go get it back, but Teddy had a better idea. We ran back quick so the monster wouldn't eat us and got our backpack. Then we went back to the monsters cave to get our toys.

Just when we got there we was the monster putting the toys on the shelf and dusting them off. We had to be very quiet.

We hid by one shelf until he went away. Then we got our toys. Teddy got on the shelf and threw them down to me. We almost got the last one in our bag and the monster caught us.

He took us to his room and asked us if we wanted some juice. Teddy thought it was a trick. He told us his name was Morbert.

He's not a bad monster. He said he took our toys cause we left them on the floor and didn't put them in the toy box. We told him we were gonna be more careful now and he let us take them back, but he told us that next time he will keep them if we don't put them away.

When we left Morbert looked sad. We think he liked our toys best.

Now Teddy and me aren't scared of Morbert under our bed. And sometimes we go give him a toy just so he's not sad.

And mommy is happy cause we clean up our room all the time. She still said there is no monsters under the bed. Maybe she doesn't believe in Morbert but we think she's right anyway. There is no monster under the bed, cause Morbert is just misunderstood.



the shadow | random | the glow

this one was written 2004-01-02 @ 9:43 am by dee