glow
The Truth About Our Dryer

This is the second in my series of childrens stories. You can read the first one here: Welcome To The Imagination

Today teddy and me had an adventure. Mommy doesn't believe me but, teddy knows it's true.

Daddy was complaining about the dryer again. He says it eats his socks. But I think the dryer is ok. Teddy's been in there before and he came out all right. I think maybe he only eats socks, not people (or teddies).

I like dryer cause sometimes when I'm trying to sleep I can here him. He sings me lullabies and sometimes I can here him purring.

Today when daddy told mommy that the dryer ate his socks again he looked upset. He might try to get rid of dryer if he's upset. But I like dryer, he's my friend. and I don't want him to leave. So I have to do something today.

After breakfast, teddy and me went into our room and packed our sack so we could help dryer. We only packed the important things: flashlight, Misty 2000 water gun, cookies, band-aids, and the most important of all, seven of daddies socks.

We had to be sneaky to get daddy's socks cause I think he had a video camera watching them, just in case it wasn't the dryer eating them. But, teddy distracted the secret camera. Daddy thought we wouldn't know it was hidden in his underwear drawer but we knew cause that's where he hides the treats he buys for us when mom doesn't know. Then we got the socks and ran out so the alarm wouldn't get us. We were very quick but teddy won.

Now we had to get to the dryer. and teddy came up with anidea. We used out airplane/car/boat/submarine/spaceship that we call the purple thing, because it is. And we had to put on our protective invisibilitu suits on too. I wasn't sure that we recharged them after last time we used them but I checked early and we did.

So i got into my suit and put teddy in his and we got our sacks and climbed in the spacke-hatch of the purple thing and buckled us up cause mommy says you have too. and I switched the green knob to car. Then we were off!

Almost. Teddy had to go to the bathroom. When we got back inside I truend the red knob to invisible and we went down to the kitchen. Mommy was there but she didn't see us. But we couldn't sneak an extra cookie because the shields were wearing down.

When we got down to the basement we saw dryer talking to wash machine. Teddy and me turned off our suits and got out of the purple thing. Dryer saw us right away and told wash machine who we were. Wash machine told us he was glad we were there because he didn't want dryer to leave too. Wash machine was just finishing his lunch when we got there and me an teddy had to go quick cause dryer would be eating next and we had to see what would happen. When dryer opened his mouth I thought I hearn mommy coming so I went in too fast and fell. But once we were inside we saw a big hole wiht a light at the bottom. So we went down to look.

We had to be quiet cause we could hear them singing. I didn't understand them at first but teddy told me what they were saying. We hid beind a big wite box thing and watched them. There was a thousand little blue fat guys singing and dancing.

Then it got quiet. A big fat old blue and green polka dot guy came out and the whole dryer started to shake. So we had to hold on so they wouldn't see us. Then when it was still shaking the big fat guy banged on the wall and three different socks fell down into a pile. The fat guy gave them to the little guys and they ripped them into small pieces and put them away.

Teddy was gettting scared so we had to do something. He thought we should give them cookies but I wasn't sure that would work. And then all the little blue guys danced off into another room.

And before I could do anything teddy ran off to get the socks to show daddy. I had to run after him and just as we got a piece of the socks into our sack the big fat guy came back. Teddy tried to offer some cookies but the fat guy was angry that we disturbed their lunch. So he picked us up and tossed us out of the hole we came in.

Dryer opened his mouth and all the clothes that were being dried were put all over the floor. And dryers mouth closed so fast that he hit the wall.

Mommy heard the noise and came down to see what happened. She saw me and teddy in the middle of the pile of almost dry clothes and blamed us.

I tried to tell her about the hole in the dryer and the little blue guys but when she looked in the dryer there wasn't a hole.

I tried to tell her that when dryer hit the wall the hole disappeared. But she diddn't believe us.

We tried to tell her that we had proof and we treid to get the sock pieces out of our bag and she saw daddies seven socks and she blamed us. We had to pick up all the clothes and then we didn't get anny cookies for dessert and we didn't get a bedtime story.

I tried to tell mommy about our adventure but she doesn't believe us. But I know and teddy does too.

Mommy doesn't believe us but, daddy doesn't talk about his eaten socks any more.

Now mommy yells at the dishwasher....



the shadow | random | the glow

this one was written 2003-04-08 @ 9:41 am by dee