glow
Bad Habit's I've Never Picked Up

I wasn't going to update today, but you lucked out.

So I went out for lunch today with Jess. We were supposed to meet at Ceili's just after noon. I got there a few minutes early and so I grabbed a table near the doors so I could see her when she came in. Ten minutes pass and she's still not around. So finally, I call her cell phone to find out where she's at and she's sitting on the other side of the restaurant in the back. I couldn't see her because of the bar in the way. Anyway, it was a good lunch, fun time, etc etc.

So I got back to school just in time for my last class of the day. No I didn't skip anything, I have a three hour spare. Anyway, one of the girls beside me asked me if I smoked. I had to explain that it was the guys at the table behind us at Ceili's that were smoking cigars which is probably why I smelled like smoke. All in all, not a huge deal.

Class goes on and our teacher, who thinks he's pretty funny, likes to use strange and obscure references to give examples of the ideas he's presenting. He asked if anyone in our class smoked a pipe, to which I guess, the girl beside me pointed me out (unbeknownst to me). My teacher had this bewildered look on his face when he looked at me and said "You smoke a pipe?" Still being clueless I looked around for who he was talking to, until I realized everyone in front of me had turned around to look at ME. I was flabbergasted and couldn't even speak. At this point the girl next to me piped up and said "No, I thought you could smell the smoke in the room, she was sitting beside some people that smoked a pipe at lunch." And everyone cracked up, including me.

I thought she had pointed at me to be funny, because we're always cracking each other up in that class. She seriously thought he was asking because of the smell of smoke on my shirt was strong to her and she thought he had smelled it too. In actuality he was making another obscure reference which had nothing to do with anything.

In any case it was pretty funny in one of those "I guess you had to be there" kinda ways. But I spent the rest of the class sending death threats to the girl who thought it'd be funny to point me out as a pipe smoker (even though that wasn't her intention). It made for a very fun day.



the shadow | random | the glow

this one was written October 20, 2004 @ 7:37 pm by dee