glow
On Paper We're All The Same

I just read the most inspiring and heartbreaking book. It's a biography type book about this man's experience teaching a creative writing class for the Inside Out program in a juvenile detention hall. It's called True Notebooks by Mark Salzman.

It made me think a lot. I can't begin to imagine being locked up for the rest of my life. I can't speak for anyone else but often, I find myself so quick to dismiss people. Who cares right? Obviously it's they're own fault. They don't deserve my sympathy. At best they deserve my pity. Who cares? No one does.

What about that panhandler you saw on the corner last week. Did you cross the street to avoid him? Did you suddenly become very interested how clean your shoes were, so you wouldn't have to make eye contact? Did you assume he would just spend it on booze or drugs? Were you thinking that he should just go out and get a job like everyone else?

What about that teenage girl with the baby. Did you even smile in her direction or were you too busy judging her?

That guy with all the piercings and tattoos, that girl with down syndrome, that cranky old person, the fat kid, the gay couple, the geek. Did they cross your mind at all or were you too busy congratulating yourself on how different you are from "those people".

You're never going to agree with everything a person does. That's not the point. We're not supposed to be judges. We're all defendants.



the shadow | random | the glow

this one was written October 30, 2004 @ 11:27 pm by dee