glow
3 Days Since My Last Update

Today was so much better than yesterday. Yesterday went from good like free ice cream sundaes in the summer to bad like repeated kicks in the face after being told that it's not ice cream, it's lava and it's "free" cause it's coming off of your pay check. BLEH!

I finished all my finals! WHOO HOO! One year down, one more to go. The last one, which I was totally expecting to be crazy hard, was actually fairly decent. Afterwards all the people from my program went over to the campus bar to knock back a few. I had to work so I wasn't able to share in their adventures, but I had one celabratory toast with a few classmates, because I had a few hours before I had to head out. I was a little bummed that I couldn't hang out with these people but I was so pumped that school was over.

Then I get to work and it all goes straight downhill.

Stupid new boss at work has serious management issues... as in, he can't manage anything. We had a guy call in sick yesterday, so we were already a body short. They called someone in, which helped, but he was only sticking around until 9, which meant I was on my own to close. So firstly, we get behind because stupid new boss (SNB) decides it would be a good idea to mess up the regular system of how things are done and try something new and fun. Well it was new, but the fun part didn't happen, it just ended up getting us behind schedule.

Then I'm trying to get people set up for their game and a couple of them don't have their proof of purchase, so SNB says "just add them to the game" and I'm all "did they pay?" he starts getting snotty and goes "yes" so casually I was like "why don't they have a proof of purchase (like we give everyone who pays?!)" and he flips out and starts getting mad at me telling me to just add them to the game. It was a valid question! It's one thing when it's not busy but on a friday night, when I don't know who's paid and who hasn't, those freakin proof's of purchase are the only way I can tell for sure who's in which game.

Anyway, then time passes and we're behind, but we're ok. The guy they called in decided to stick around because he saw the frustration between me and SNB so he knew it wouldn't be a good idea to leave us alone at that moment.

It's a good idea he stayed because the second last game of the night was not set up in the computer properly (again props to SNB for that one) so there was a major snafu that would have caused me to meltdown if he was not able to fix it. In any case, he fixed it, but we were even more behind now.

the called in guy had to leave after that because he had to open the next morning. So I was supposed to do the entire close list (which is three pages long and completely stupid) by myself. SNB said he had gotten a lot of it done while I was running my games, but in fact, I had to redo alot of his work, because he's an idiot and I would have gotten in trouble for it.

I was scheduled to work until 11:30pm last night but I didn't leave the building until 12:45am. yeah. 1 hour and 15 minutes late. SNB kept suggesting reasons why we got so behind, none of which were his fault of course. But he wasn't doing very much to help things. His job, as manager, is supposed to be to keep us on track and get us back on track if things go wrong. He just makes them worse.

So that's my rant from yesterday. But today, as I said, was much much better. I only had to work with SNB for two hours, then one of the fun managers was on closing with me and the guy who was still sick but came in anyway. So tonight I was scheduled until 11:30pm and I got out of there at 11:28pm. And tonight was busier than last. That's how it's done!
I seriously feel like a weight has been lifted off my shoulders now that school is done. Too bad I still have a bazillion things to do in the next couple of weeks... including find a real job.

Any offers?



the shadow | random | the glow

this one was written April 24, 2005 @ 12:32 am by dee