glow
Dignity, Respect And Other Things You'll Never Have

Alright. I know I rarely update any more. I bet you're thinking.. What? Two entries within 12 hours? What is she thinking?

Really, it's just that I'm in a very strange place. Not physically, but you know what I mean right?

The last entry had me introduce, yet again, the guy who is a friend of my aunt's... the alcoholic guy who is very wealthy and likes to flaunt it. From now on he'll be refered to as Kris. Anyway, on with the story.

So this morning I call my mom at my aunt's house and ask when is a good time to come over, she says right away so we can go to lunch, get some grocery shopping done etc. So I come over, and as soon as I get there Kris asks for the keys to the car and says he has to take a drive.

He comes back with a case of beer, and promptly opens one knocking it back. It's not long before he's starting up again about how he'll take care of all of my debt blah blah blah on a couple of conditions. Lose a bit of weight, give him certain financial controls and get a boyfriend. I try to be nice, tell him I appreciate the offer, but I can't accept it. He doesn't accept that and repeats the offer. I tell him I will think about it.

Anyway the day goes on, he comes out to lunch with us at BP's where he promptly enters the lounge, knocks back a beer, then joins us in the restaurant, where he orders another. Then he launches back into his lecture/offer... I'm starting to loose my patience, but his daughter is with us, so I'm still trying to be nice.

The poor girl is 16 years old, and had to change the subject many times as she knew how uncomfortable the situation was. She also had to instruct him to take out his wallet to pay the bill, which card to use, and get him to sign the slip when it came back (of course he wouldn't allow us to pay). He dropped his wallet and she kept it, ensuring that he could not buy any more alcohol. She had to watch him to make sure he could walk back to the car. And serveral times she had to reassure him that we were in fact going to take him home before we did anything else.

After droping him off and instructing him to go to sleep, we went back to the supermarket to grab some food for dinner, then came back home to find him still laying on the couch, where he started up again when he saw me walk by to open the window. Rather than loose my patience I just walked away at the first opportunity.

He also told me that he wanted me to take his daughter Joanna out and was going to give us each $200 spending money to do whatever we wanted with. I explained that I'd take her out, but I didn't need $200 to do that. We ended up deciding on a movie, but it didn't start until 7pm, so we sat in the dining room playing cards until then. He walked by and asked why we weren't out and if we had spent the money yet. We had to tell him 3 times that we were going to a movie in a while and to rest assured that we had all the cash we needed to do that.

We went to see The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants. Very cute movie, but the book was better, though I did enjoy the soundtrack. After which Joanna informed me that if I didn't take the money from her, her dad would be very upset. I'm still not comfortable with taking the money, but I did.

We get back home and he is passed out. Joanna goes into his room and pulls out a twofour of vodka (half full) and a twofour of rum completely empty. In addition to all the beer he's already had today. He finally gets up and starts in on me again. Joanna's in another room at this point so I tell him "you've made the offer, I said I'd think about it, now you need to drop it". He says he will, and that lasted all of 10 minutes. So I repeat it again. I can't stand this guy.

First of all, I worked damn hard to get my debt down to where it is right now. All that's left is my student loan and that's in interest relief until I'm done school. One summer at the same job I was working this year would pay that off. Secondly I would never EVER do anything because he asked me to. I have no respect for him. In fact, in his asking, it makes me want to do the complete opposite. Anything I do will be on my terms and because I want to. This guy spent several hours explaining to me that the only way to be happy in life is to have some money in the bank, and the only way to do that is to get married. Um... yeah, cause you seem really happy you fucking prick.

It's taking every ounce of strength in me not to ring his neck. For my family's sake and for his daughter's sake I'm being civil, I'm trying to play nice, but I swear if he mentions it one more time I'm going to tell him what's what.

I can't even begin to tell you how heartbroken I am for his daughter. There's going to be a day, and I don't think it will be far off, that girl will turn her back on him. He can only buy his friends and family for so long.



the shadow | random | the glow

this one was written August 27, 2005 @ 10:00 pm by dee