glow
500th Entry EXTRAVAGANZA - sunshine version

Today marks the half way point in our series: "Dee: A 500th Entry EXTRAVAGANZA!!!". As such, I've called upon someone very special to share with you today. This one's from Sunshine, who has thwarted my every plea to join the faceless masses here at diaryland. I still lover her anyway.

On my summer holiday in Winnipeg, while I was working in the city, a homeless man stopped me on my way back from lunch and asked for spare change. I told him I only had the regular kind, but would try to find some of that in my purse.

I couldn't help but run the scenario through my head that would inevitably play out later that day. This lost soul would plunk my change (and countless other guilty givers') down on the counter to purchase something that was definitely not "food". A Big Bear maybe? Or how about some Lysol...naw that wouldn't be it. This guy would smell a little better you'd think. Maybe even something I didn't understand, like crack or paint thinner or something...

Well, as these images are running around my little pea brain, I happen upon some change in a far away corner of my purse and fish it out. The scruffy recipient is muttering about just wanting a decent meal and being an honest man. Well I hand it over, being careful all the while not to appear offended by his outstretched hand, and at the same time trying to be subtle about not touching it AT ALL.

"You certainly could use a little change in your life, buddy" I smile.

He takes it and nods politely. A couple strides into my escape I am almost certain I hear the same voice mutter, "Stupid Bitch".

I have to laugh at that one. I am almost relieved. It may sound crazy, but in moments like those I secretly wonder if it's Jesus himself asking me for a little help and compassion. I am glad that this was not Christ almighty, because I'd hate to be caught making lame jokes and stupid comments to the messiah. Besides, Jesus wouldn't call me a bitch would he...?

Hmmmm.....

Really makes you wonder.

Check back tomorrow when our guests will include Rachel, better known as Ghostiness



the shadow | random | the glow

this one was written August 09, 2004 @ 6:22 pm by dee