glow
Stuff You May Already Know (But Probably Not)

It used to be that there were three other people on the exact same shift as me. It was pretty much necessary because of all the different desks that need to be covered by at least one person. We all took turns at each of the different desks at least once a week, unless someone was training, in which case they got to stay at the desk they were training at until they had a solid understanding of what they were doing.

Then came along this new "realignment" thing. Some retard decided it was time to make sure we had even coverage throughout the week, which in theory, sounds like a great idea. But the problem is they now only have 2 other people on the same shift as me. Meaning that one person has to run two desks for between 2-4 hours a night.

This in and of itself isn't such a huge issue because usually (on a good night) we are able to close down one desk completely before we run out of staff. The other issue now though, is that there is 1 extra person on every shift for 8 hours a night. This person is called a "floater" which means they are supposed to help out where ever help is needed most, giving people breaks and whatnot. But in reality floater = sit on your ass and do nothing all night. This is so irritating.

Also, because of the new shifts, the scheduling for the different desks we rotate between was all crazy. So my boss decided it would be a good idea for her to make a new one (it's all about the power trip). Everyone is now trained at every different desk. On other shifts, most clerks have a prefered desk and are able to work at that desk without too much fuss, though occasionally compromises have to be made (as with everything in life). In any case, on my shift, our boss has decided she doesn't like the way that is done because if you are away from one desk for too long you start to forget the job function and have to relearn. I understand this and to some extent I also agree. But when she made up this new schedule, she didn't ask us our opinions or even allow us to suggest other options. She implemented a rotating schedule in which some people are rotating to a different desk daily, some people rotate only between two desks and some people (ME) stay at the most hated of places indefinitely! I know I am stuck at this desk because I was most recently trained here and supposedly one needs more than a month of training to fully comprehend the difficulties that may or may not arise at the desk. But it's still no fun. Plus she STILL won't let anyone help me. Which is fine most of the night, but when it's really busy I think it'd be a little more important to have loads on time rather than prove a point. But she's petty like that sometimes.

Which brings me to another dilemma. I really want to tell my boss that I'm leaving town at the end of July. I hate keeping secrets, and I don't want everyone else to know before she does (and things have a way of traveling fast around here). I know that summer is a busy time for staff holidays and I don't want to leave them short handed. Plus, I really need a good reference from this place, even though it's against company policy to give references, I have a couple of bosses who said they would give personal recommendations (even though if they get caught giving a written one they can get in big trouble [which is totally strange. Stupid bureaucracy]). So the dilemma part is this: I mentioned to a friend at work that I wanted to tell her sooner and she strongly advised against it. She said that I should wait until the first of the month, that would be more than enough notice. Apparently she thinks, (and I'm inclined to agree) that my boss might be the type to hold it against me and that telling her too soon could cause more trouble than good. So I'm a little wishy washy on this one.

I know, you're sitting there rolling your eyes at the screen. "What, Dee, wishy washy? NO Way! I never would have guessed it." But it's true. Can't make up my mind for the life of me. I suppose it's better to wait if I can't decide, less harm in that. I will definitely give at least a months notice though. Even though I hate the politics of that place, I really don't want to screw over the people.

I could probably continue ranting about my job for days but for your sake I'll quit now. Besides, I should get to bed soon.

There's a strange man mudding up the walls in the hallway just outside my room. I hope he doesn't keep me up with all that scrapping. *shudder*



the shadow | random | the glow

this one was written June 17, 2004 @ 9:15 am by dee