glow
You Just Don't Get It

The other day she said to me "Come on, you can't actually believe that stuff! It's just this stupid need people have to validate their own existance. It's all random. There's no reason for it, there's no 'second life'. It's just random particles, random energies mingling and morphing until we exsited. Thats it."

That's not something I'll ever understand. Random? Hardly. Every design must have a designer. Why would we have this questioning in us if there weren't an answer? People for thousands of years have been trying to understand who we are and why we exist. What purpose would that serve if there were no answer?

In this culture where we refuse to deny any needs (real or imaginary), where anything goes and we are constantly searching for new ways to become happier more fulfilled people, why are we so quick to dismiss the idea that maybe there is something greater than us out there. Maybe there is some reason for it all. Maybe we'll never understand details, the 'how's and why's'. Maybe "just because" is all we're capable of understanding.

How can some people be so completely opposed to something they know nothing about? You hypocrite! You tell me to keep an open mind, to accept your beliefs because relativism is the way, yet you can't accept my views. And what's worse, you already know my views and yet you continue to fight me on them. You call yourself my friend and yet every conversation with you is a struggle. I'm sorry but I just don't know if I can do this anymore.



the shadow | random | the glow

this one was written June 15, 2004 @ 12:10 pm by dee