glow
The Last Chapter Of The Story Of The Ankle

Well I suppose it's time to update again. I should probably let you all know that I am alive and well. And considerably better than I was last week.

So about the surgery. Here's how it went down. I didn't sleep at all the night before. I was so nervous about the whole thing, even though it was a routine proceedure and I knew it wasn't a big deal at all. In any case, we got to the hospital and met with the anesthesiologist and he told me that he thought it would be safer to do a spinal again (like they did for the first surgery) rather than put me under. This was not a happy thing. Last time it took them three tries and really hurt.

So he went and talked with the doctor who said sometimes he does this proceedure in his office with just a local anesthetic and so they could do a local and just give me something to relax me a bit. given my options I thought that sounded better. Then the doctor comes in and says he's not exactly sure where the pins are so he may have to do some digging around in there, which with a local may hurt a bit. So I'm back to freaking out a bit. Then he says we'll try the local first and if I'm in pain we'll do the spinal. So I figure that's my best option and we go for that.

So they strap me down (apparently a lot of people flail their arms around and so it has become necessary to strap everyone to the table). And start working away. It really wasn't that bad. Because of the lack of sleep the night before and all the fun relaxants they gave me I was in a pretty happy place. I could feel a bit of pressure but no pain.

It was a fairly short proceedure and they let me keep the pins afterwards (which I'd show you if our digital camera was working). They put me in a room called "Day Care" for recovery which struck me as really funny because all the people in there were pretty old. But I digress. Because I didn't have general anesthetic it didn't take long at all for me to get my bearings. I was up and walking really quickly. I thought I would have at least needed crutches or something but I was walking as well as I had before the accident ever happened. Then I realized my leg was probably still under local anesthetic and that it wouldn't be this good for ever. But I did enjoy it while it lasted.

Gayle drove me back home and we stopped at Wendy's because I hadn't eaten since the day before. Pretty soon after we got home I was so exhausted I had to go to bed. I fell asleep just after supper and woke up the next morning at around 10am.

The next day my ankle was kind of sore again. But still totally better than the whole week before the surgery. That week I had achey pain in my ankle every day. Since the surgery it's more of a healing kinda pain. Like its just around where the stitches are (I have two on each side of my ankle).

I went to physio yesterday and Mariann was pretty impressed at how well it all went. She also plans to work me really hard. She gave me a new list of things I have to do at home EVERYDAY. She told me she'd know how much I was doing by how much I was improving.

I'm going back to work next week and I really, REALLY, REALLY don't want to. Going back to nights is hard enough, but they are getting rid of a lot of people there now. Plus my boss is going to want to train me on the shipping desk, which is not really something I want to do at all. I also still don't know if I'm staying or going yet. I don't want to tell them until I know for sure because if I change my mind I may not have a job. Everything is so up in the air right now. I've got a lot of difficult decisions to make and not a lot of time to do it. In the mean time I am going to spend this last week enjoying my freedom because this is it. So I'm going to go lay around a bit, but I just wanted to let you know I'm still here. Whether you like it or not. (haha)



the shadow | random | the glow

this one was written 2004-04-30 @ 1:51 pm by dee