glow
I Agree With Bob

Any one who knows me knows I don't cry easily.

Work was so stressful this morning I almost started sobbing. Seriously. I would have to agree with Uncle Bob who actually wrote a song called "I Hate This Fucking Shithole". The song actually kind of describes the place I work. Which is scary.

In any case, not a good day. We also had to fill out these surveys at work about how we feel about our jobs and such, which couldn't have come at a better time. It was all anonymous and nation wide so I figured it would be a great time to politely (so as not to loose my job because these things are NEVER completely anonymous) get some things off my chest. And I did.

I basically told them how there is no communication between management and staff. We don't have any of the tools we need to do our job (We have to buy our own office supplies and the computers are still running on the slowest processors known to man). I told them that if they boosted morale they would probably get more work done and a better level of service because people would start to take pride in what they were doing. A little recognition goes a long way.

Then I found out that the newest person hired as a clerk was getting promoted to management next week. She has been here for less than 6 months. In a place where EVERYTHING is based on senority and loyalty I am completely floored by this. Not to mention that she is approximately the same age as me. What are they thinking?! They're thinking 1. We need more women managers and 2. she's hot. Which is not to discredit the possibility that she has some serious experience or is some kind of genius but I'm feeling petty so give me a break. It's not like I wanted the job, I'm just flabergasted that she got it.

Whatever. Point being, it's been a long day's night and I am ready for sleep.

[/end rant]



the shadow | random | the glow

this one was written 2004-05-21 @ 10:51 am by dee