glow
Someday I'll Go Back Home

I'm cold and I'm dirty and the light's on my face are
so bright that I'm squinting and feeling disgraced.
Alone, so alone now I'm all by myself
where it's lonely and quiet and no one's around.
So I sit on the sidewalk with my head hanging low;
the tears just start falling with no where to go.
Forming a puddle in front of my feet
I'm losing control, I've had nothing to eat.
These people are passing and looking away
as they pretend not to see me, their eyes are afraid.
I'm empty and broken there's nothing to lose.
I'm worn out, beaten, battered and bruised.
You think that you know me and you understand.
Pretend you don't hear as I hold out my hand.
You've got family, dignity, power and wealth
But, how can you know me when you don't know yourself?
You lie to yourself, our differences are few
I'm standing here screaming "You fool, I AM you."



the shadow | random | the glow

this one was written June 12, 2005 @ 1:11 am by dee