glow
Oblivious... But Still Lame

So yeah, it's been a while huh? Well, you know how it gets. Busy and all.

Actually, mostly it's just that I'm oblivious. Seriously. I have no concept of anything around me at all. In fact, I just noticed two days ago that it was fall. The only reason I figured that out was that I had to walk through giant piles of fallen leaves to get to my house. I was thinking to myself "When did this happen? Last week it was all green?!" and also "Boy, I'm oblivious"
So I made a mini resolution to start noticing things around me. And I have to say, there are some very strange people in this city.
The first thing I noticed after making my resolution was I heard a sound... kind of like a wooden Gong. So I looked up and saw a guy bouncing a guitar off another guys head. Not like, to beat him with a guitar, but playfully. Both of them were laughing anyway, so I figure very little harm was done... except that the guitar now had a big hole in the back.
The second thing I noticed was this guy, who must have been at least thirty, wearing a suit and tie (no jacket), clean shaven, neat hair. Normally nothing special about the scene right? Except the guy was riding a skateboard down the street. And he was pretty good actually. It made me smile a bit.
As I was watching that guy fly past on his board, my gaze was diverted to a girl at the bus stop near by. She had her headphones on and was dancing to the music. But not like someone would dance in a club... Like ballet. Spins and twirls and a little leap every now and then. Now that I think about it, she was probably an actual dancer that was working on some choreography or something. But funny none the less.
When I got to work, I was working on calls to South Carolina and Tennesee. It's actually not too bad because the surveys are short and they're for some bank, so people usually don't mind doing them since they are already customers. Anyway, I never realized before how prominent the accents are down there. I was talking to one guy who sounded JUST LIKE Boomhauer from King Of The Hill. I couldn't understand 3/4ths of what he was saying. Good times.
On the way home I walked by a guy who looked a lot like drew carey, in a creepy balding kinda way. And of course, it never ceases to amaze me how many weird people are here, in my school.
So my little experiment was pretty cool. I'm going to have to start paying more attention to stuff around me I guess. Maybe then I'll have more interesting stuff to write about.

Then again, maybe not.



the shadow | random | the glow

this one was written September 27, 2004 @ 11:45 am by dee