glow
Random & Annoying But At Least A Little Entertaining?

So yesterday was a day like any other. Except that it wasn't. Because it was great and terrible.

So I am unable to sleep past 9:30 am even though I should be sleeping until about 4pm. Very irritating. This means that I will be up for more than 24 hours. Which, while fun on days off, is quite the opposite on work days.

Nevertheless, I go to work. Things are going fairly routinely. I get a call to go see Ian. My bosses' boss. Naturally I'm racking my brain to figure out what I did that cause this.

I go to see him and he gives me my jacket. This is the jacket given to office staff usually upon completion of their probation (3 months). But because someone complained enough that she didn't have her jacket yet (and she had been there a year), they ordered them all at the same time. So I was happy and all was well.

Then Ian tells me to close the door. (This can only be bad.) I close the door and he tells me that there has been some discrepancy between starting wages, so to even things out better, they were going to bump the new staff up to a certain level to make things a little more even. Which means I get a raise. But don't tell anyone because not everyone will be getting this raise.

Hooray! I get a raise! This day is awesome!

Then I go try on my jacket. It doesn't fit quite right. But as I am a little self conscious I don't want to say anything and look stupid. Plus it took one girl 2 years to get her jacket after she had to re-order because of size. No big deal.

Then I remember that the day I missed because I was sick will be on this cheque. Or should I say NOT on this cheque. This being the "end of the month" money. This being the "every penny needed" cheque.

I am terrible with money and I'm willing to admit it. I have a system that works, so long as nothing changes. No suprises. My cheque is about $150 short because of my day off. Thereby making me owe a minimum of $60 more than I have right now. Not including gas, food, fun, etc.

ARGH. I hate this. I just keeps looking like I don't learn from my mistakes. I do learn. I know this is a big screw up and it's my fault. I know "in theory" it could have been avoided. But everytime I am just about to be caught up again and starting clean slated, something comes up to throw me back down.

I hate how everything is due at the beginning of the month and nothing is due at the middle. Its really quite stupid.

Anyway. That's my whiny pathetic story.

But Sydney was able to fix up all my links so they all should work now. She is my template hero.

I must try to sleep now, while trying to forget about the stress that is eating away at my insides and cramping my muscles.



the shadow | random | the glow

this one was written 2003-09-25 @ 9:58 am by dee