glow
Mushrooms... Not Just For Ketchup Anymore.

So I'm driving home from work today. I'm pretty tired after working twelve hours. I'm starting to feel a little hungry. So I'm torn. I'm hungry, but tired. So I say to myself "Self," (and I knew it was me because I recognized the voice) "since today is payday, why not treat yourself to not making breakfast." So I drive to my local A&W which is way better (and less grease-tastic) than some of the alternatives. But I digress.

I'm sitting here, ready to eat my hashbrown, when I read the label on the packet of ketchup. "A & W Ketchup Aux Tomates"... then I flipped it over and saw that it said Tomato Ketchup. (Yes I really am that slow at this time in the morning.) This made me wonder, "why specify tomato? Isn't all ketchup tomato? Doesn't ketchup mean "smushed up tomato that is tasty for putting on fried potato products"?

These questions prompted me to look it up. This is what I found:


ketch�up also catch�up or cat�sup

n.

1. A condiment consisting of a thick, smooth-textured, spicy sauce usually made from tomatoes.

2. [Probably of East Indian origin, because it was originally a kind of East Indian pickles.] A table sauce made from mushrooms, tomatoes, walnuts, etc.


Who Knew?

I'm going to go find some walnut ketchup now. Maybe I could ask for that at a restaurant next time I'm out. Perhaps it's like the "dijon" of ketchups.

There's a whole world of ketchup possiblities.

It just goes to show you, it is possible to learn something new every day!

In any case, I have to get off the computer now so that my father can go online and play some stupid game. He actually told me to go to bed. I'm 21 years old! He makes it seem like it's all concern for me.. but it's at least partly about getting on the computer. How completely juvenile.

Maybe I'll leave a packet of ketchup on the chair.... hehehe yeah... that'd learn 'em!



the shadow | random | the glow

this one was written 2003-10-09 @ 9:04 am by dee