glow
A Small Victory!

I got back three assignments today; one in each class. My management assignment was about what I had expected. It was a group project, pretty simple and straightforward, so I was pretty sure we aced it. Until she told us she would dock marks for not sourcing the article using APA style. The only problem with that was that I was alwas taught that citations are only for direct quotes, where as she wanted cites for even paraphrases of articles... Which is what half the assignment was. So we lost 8% for that, but it was otherwise flawless. So yeah We got 92%!!!
Then in computers we got our first assignments back. I wasn't worried about this one at all because it's a cake course, but a requirement for the program. So I was a little ticked off that I only got 96%. He took off one mark for an answer to a definition question that was close, but not the exact wording he was looking for. This is my own fault, so I'm just mad at myself for a stupid mistake. But the other mark he took off was because one of the files I transfered to his folder went missing and I had to resubmit it. I handed all four files in at the same time but one went missing and somehow that's my fault? I don't think so! ARGH! Oh well, still a decent mark.
Then there was the dreaded english summary. I wasn't too worried about this one, but I was still worried because we never really learn anything in the class. He basically just tells us to do readings, then he talks about grammer for the rest of the class. Plus, this was pretty close to an essay and those things scare the crap out of me. So when the girl beside me got a 58% and the girl in front of me got a 71% I was a little nervous. He said that class average was about 66% and he said that was good. I don't know what planet he's from but 66% is just barely passing when the class isn't graded on a curve. So I finally got my assignment back and I see a note on the first paragraph that says "Wrong Thesis"... How's that even possible?! Wrong Thesis? That doesn't even make sense. Then I look at the back where the marking guide is and he took off 1 point for spelling and grammer because I forgot a period. Which wouldn't be so bad, except spelling and grammer were only out of 4. he took 25% of my grammer mark away because of ONE LITTLE DOT! That ticks me off. Stupid Spell Check - You let me down!
I guess I shouldn't complain too much because I still beat class average by about 22%... Yep, that's right. What's got two thumbs and got 88% on her english summary? THIS GIRL!
After school I had to stay and do a computer based test, all multiple choice, in management. We don't really talk about much in that class either, and one of the girls I talked with said she went over what our teacher said would be on the test and she still only got 60%. On the plus, we get two tries to write it, because the questions are randomly generated so you never get the same test twice. I figure I've got nothing to loose, so I'd skim over my text quickly and go in for a "test run". I happened to get a pretty easy version because most of the answers were common knowledge even if you hadn't read the text recently. There were a few questions that tripped me up though. In fact, I wrote down the answer afterwards and checked my book to see where I could find it, and it was in half a sentance. That's rough. Hopefully my second attempt isn't all questions like that. It doesn't matter much though because only the higher of the two tests is recorded and I got 80% on this one. WHOO!
Anyway, I'm not going to spend too much time being excited about this though, because I still have a math assignment I don't even understand, and a compare/contrast essay worth 10% of my final grade, which are both due in the next week. Not to mention the tests/quizzes/midterms that are all coming up in a week or two. Ugh. It never ends.



the shadow | random | the glow

this one was written October 04, 2004 @ 6:52 pm by dee