glow
Good Things About Being Gibbled

  • getting notes of support from some of my favorite people.
  • lots of phone calls from people asking if theres anything they can do to help me.
  • catching up on the daytime tv lineup (I love the Ellen Show!)
  • having all my meals made for me.
  • hopping around the house will help get me into shape?!
  • I'm not spending money cause I can't go shopping, even if I wanna.

    I'm sure something good will come from this. I'm already spending so much time thinking and I've come to a few really interesting conclusions about myself. I never really realized how hard it is to have to fully depend on other people for basic things. I've known other people who've broken bones and are able to resume their life, pretty much as normal. I'm stuck in the house. I'm not sure whether this is just due to my fear of hurting myself further or because I really did a gooder.

    In any case, I got this really awesome email from my buddy Stacey and it was so full of awesome ideas I thought I'd share it with y'all. Ya know, on the off chance that something this retarded happens to one of you *smiles*.

    Dee!

    I'm so sorry to read that you're out of commission! Well, sometimes forced vacations are good things... if you look at them in the right light. With the recent jaw surgery I learned how to milk bed rest for all its worth....

    #1. If you don't already have a tv across from your bed, get one. You can use this opportunity to catch up on the films you've wanted to see, watch the news and keep up with what's happening outside your bedroom, or develop an addiciton to daytime television.
    #2. If your sister, or someother kind soul, is around to make you meals, that rocks. If not, you can get on first name basis with the takeout folk: pizza, chinese, even some italian restaurants... yum. If only Baskin Robbins delivered.
    #3. I found it useful to take up some sedentary activities like excessive magazine reading, guitar, collaging, letter writing...
    #4. You gotta have tunes! Music to wake up to, to fill the silence, to get you energized enough to make a trip to the washroom, and to fall asleep to. Make some good burned cds of your favourite stuff.
    #5. Spend a delicious amount of time daydreaming about how you'd like to live your daily, non injured, life. It can be really proactive, help you figure out what kind of changes you'd like to make, and which ones can be feasibly made.
    #6 Don't spend any time thinking about to do lists, shoulds, or have tos. That pile from work can wait!

    Many warm thoughts, good wishes, and cyber pushs to live indulgently for a while.

    -Stacey

    Isn't that some of the best advice ever? I have such great friends!
    I'm going to go reflect on that while watching The Price Is Right.
    Thanks for listening!



    the shadow | random | the glow

    this one was written 2004-01-19 @ 10:54 am by dee