glow
This Week Has Been All About Firsts

Alrighty then. Didja miss me?

It's a week later and I'm a little worse for wear but here I am, home again and online.

This entry involves a lot of blood guts and needle related information. Consider yourself warned.

So I suppose you want the scoop? Here's how it all went down.

It's Sunday morning and I just got off work. I figured I'd have a nice relaxing day, go to church, rent a video... regular weekend- type stuff. So I get to church alright (after worrying about having another car accident.) I get out of the car and walk towards the church, shuffling around a couple of cars to speed things along. Next thing I know I'm on the ground and not even thinking about getting up... ever. I guess I had slipped on a patch of ice, which is really wierd because there was no real snow or ice anywhere on the parking lot.

I heard it snap though. The sound of it still is in my head and makes me feel a little sick. Right away there were all kinds of people around me though. Four doctors three nurses a lifeguard and a couple of other healthcare professionals were at my side almost immediately. Or so I hear, I was on the ground face down, my head in my hands, not wanting to know just how much damage I had done.

cIn any case, an ambulance was called and soon I was on my way to the hospital where I waited more than 4 hours for a doctor to see me. Which would have been fine if I had any kind of pain killers. But other than the shot of morphine they gave me in the ambulance, they wouldn't give me anything until the doctor saw me.

It didn't help either that my parents were stateside visiting V and the new baby. And all the siblings were staying with their dad. A couple of people from the church heard that there wasn't anyone near by and came to the hospital to make sure I was alright. Eventually B showed up, which was really sweet considering how much he dislikes hospitals and all that.

So I finally see the doc and he gets the x-rays done, they drug me up a bit and he comes to tell me the news. He seems a bit shocked when he tells me that not only did I break a bone, but I dislocated my ankle and they'd have to pop it back in. And oh yeah, by the way, I also need surgery... as in tonight.

They had to transfer me to a different hospital, which is ok because it was closer to home anyway. The ambulance guy showed me my x-ray which was cool but freaked me out a bit when I saw exactly how bad it was.

Half an hour later I met the surgeon. They didn't knock me out for the surgery instead they gave me an epidural type drug which had to be injected into my spine. That was so painful. Eventually they got one in and the whole lower half of my body was completely numb. I could hear them cutting though that was gross.

Apparently it all went pretty well, though the surgeon told me it was one of the worst he'd ever seen. The bone was in teeny tiny pieces. He had to put in two pins, a screw and a metal plate to hold it all together.

I spent two days in an obstetrics ward after that (because there were no other beds available [God bless the budget cuts]).

They sent me home with a perscription for Tylenol #3s, Percoset, and some needles that I have to inject in my stomache once a day so I don't get blood clots. So now I've got a walker and a foot I'm not allowed to even consider stepping on for 6-8 weeks (after which I get 6-8 weeks of physio). I'm hobbling back and forth between the living room and Skims room, which I'm sharing until I'm healed.

Everyone's favorite Erin rigged up my computer upstairs so I could communicate with the outside world. And here I am. Isn't it great. Oh yeah and just after I get my cast off and before the physio, I get to go back in for surgery to remove the pins and other hardwear.

It's almost impossible for me to leave the house, due in part to the stairs leading to the outside world. I'm going crazy in here. It's only been a week. So please keep me company, emails, notes... anything!

now it's time for more drugs.



the shadow | random | the glow

this one was written 2004-01-18 @ 8:59 pm by dee