glow
Driving Aimlessly

So they sent me home from work early for the second night in a row. This is a good thing and a bad thing. It is a good thing because I haven't been getting very much sleep lately and didn't really want to be there in the first place. But the whole fact that I may not have a job in a few weeks kind of scares me. But I guess I'll think of it as a good thing.

I didn't feel like going home right then so I figured I'd drive around a while. I got off work at 2:30 and got home at 5:00. It was a long drive. I love driving at night, especially in the spring. Its so quiet and peaceful. Theres no traffic and everything looks so cinematic in the dark. Even the run-down shops look picturesque in the dark, shining with a neon glow.

The radio was playing the perfect soundtrack and I was just driving and not thinking about anything but which way to turn next.

The only thing missing was a friend or two. I love road trips. Even "mini" road trips. We used to just drive around at night sometimes and talk for hours. It was great and I miss that a lot.

While I was driving I kept seeing funny signs and scenes that would make amazing pictures, if only I had a camera. Like the Boston Pizza sign that was half burnt out and read : on Pizza. That made me laugh just thinking about all the wisecracks Zian and Ry'n could come up with about that.

So now I'm "home" for the night but if home is where your heart is, I'm a million miles away.

See you soon,

Dee



the shadow | random | the glow

this one was written 2003-04-21 @ 5:16 am by dee