glow
Closed Captioning Provided By - Who Cares?

I was watching tv in my room, after everyone else had gone to bed. I didn't want to turn it up, but I couldn't hear it very well, so I put on the closed captioning.

I've always kind of wondered what exactly is meant by "closed captioning is provided by [INSERT FORTUNE 500 COMPANY NAME HERE]". It always made me picture the executives sending some miniumum wage slave to watch the show and type up the captions. Are they watching it at the same time as I am or do they get to watch it early? Is it a machine, or a real person? Just What IS this "Captioning" and why does it have to be CLOSED?!

The best part of close captioning, is when they can't keep up and all you get is about 17 partial words. [Well yo sile so am loud herb ban for sprin ev next time Gadget] Or when the captioning people are too lazy to figure out what's being said and just type [indecipherable]. I love that. What's even funnier is when they describe music [animated bluegrass].

I'm going to be a closed captioner when I grow up. It's gotta be one of the easiest jobs in the world. I could just make stuff up, who would ever know? Except maybe for you. But you'd think it was funny too.



the shadow | random | the glow

this one was written 2004-02-21 @ 11:57 pm by dee