glow
The YC Entry You've Been Waiting For (Kind Of)

I've been staring at this empty box for a while, trying to figure out what to say or how to say it.

For reasons beyond my comprehension, my heart is heavy tonight. I don't really feel like writing much, but I promised you an entry on YC, and so you shall have one.

Friday night, 8pm, the stadium is filled. The lights are low and the music starts pumping as fireworks and lasers light up the room. United comes on stage to thunderous applause as 16,000 people rise to their feet to sing and worship together.

It was a powerful thing, followed by an incredible speaker by the name of Miles McPherson. A good running back knows to fall forward. Every time a play is called, he'll take the ball and run, even knowing that there are 11 guys from the other team trying to mow him down. He'll get hit time and time again, and he may never get a touchdown, but by falling forward, he can gain 80 yards.
He spoke about demons. If demons can worship, obey and honor Jesus, then why don't we?
Every time Jesus encountered demons, they fell to their knees, asked for mercy and did whatever they were told to do. He spoke about a call to worship.

The night ended with an awesome performance by Delirious?

I won't go through the rest of the weekend in as much detail, because really, there's just too much to tell. I did see Drentch, Hawk Nelson, Everyday Sunday, Grits, Kutless, Audio Adrenaline, Tree 63, and Toby Mac in concert. All of whom, were superb!

In fact, I was also able to snag a couple of autographs. The best was when we went to get Hawk Nelson autographs. We left the show about 10 minutes early because we knew they'd be doing a signing afterwards and didn't want to wait in line forever and because their first concert was full to capacity (they were playing a side stage) we knew it would be super busy. So we're about 8th in line and the security guy comes out and says the band will be here in 15 mins. Woot. 15 minutes passes, then 25... The security guy comes back out and says the band is watching their favorite tv show and will be out to sign autographs when it's over... in another 30 mins. ACK!

We're all hungry, so I send my buddy to go grab some food while we wait. She comes back just in the nick of time because the band came back early. So we're standing in line holding our pizza waiting to get our cd's signed. We get up to the band and all four guys are like "mmm pizza" "where'd you get it" "how much was it" etc. So I tell them, you can have a bite, or heck, take the slice, I'll grab another. They're all joking around, asking if we want our pizza signed and we tell them, no thanks, the cd's will be fine. At which point the band's drummer, Matt Paige, pokes my pizza with his Sharpie and says "doink!" I start laughing and he's like "oh, I'm sorry, I just had to." I tell him it's ok and he stops me, asks my name, extends his hand to shake and says "Dee, I'm really sorry about that." To which I replied "that's ok, it adds protein." He laughs and I walk away to eat my slice.

A good time was had by all. A great time by some, and a memorable time was had by ME.

If you want to know more about YC you can check out the website here: YC 2005. If you want to know something specific about my experience there, you can email me (but remove the SPAM Sucks part) or note me and I'll tell you everything you want to know, but for now, I must get some sleep.

They say when you stand on a mountain top, eventually you have to come back down. I hope that's all this is, because I don't think I could deal with any bad news today. Besides, coming down can't be that bad because what do you do when you're standing at the top of a mountain? You look down to see the breath-taking view of the valley.



the shadow | random | the glow

this one was written May 28, 2005 @ 11:21 pm by dee