glow
Things Only Happen When I Can't Write Them Down

Its really frustrating that every time I have something the slightest bit entertaining, I have no access to a computer to jot it down for ya'll to read. It's really unfortunate.

Yesterday for example, I kind of "ran away" from my family. Which really shouldn't be such a big deal as I am 22 years old. But the story goes like this:

My aunt and uncle invited some friends from India to stay with them while they were in Canada. They happen to have a 16 year old daughter. They assume that because we are less than 40 years apart that we should become best friends and do each others hair and have sleepovers. This isn't going to happen. I'm just not into that. Plus they never even asked me.

So anyway, I was expected to spend the weekend at my aunts home to help entertain these people. Which I did, very reluctantly. But I wasn't informed that this was even required of me until just before they showed up that day! So anyway everything was going alright, until my aunt starts harping on me about school and my financial situation regarding it.

I didn't feel it was really appropriate to be discussing it at a time when her guests would be able to hear. I also don't think she needs to be aware of my every financial transaction and I told her so. This started an argument and I told her I wasn't going to stay and fight with her and I was leaving.

It just so happened that the first person I called was Andrew and he was looking for an excuse not to work out. So he came to get me and we hung out for a while.

My family wasn't too impressed with me. But I really needed to get away. I did make sure to say a polite good bye to everyone before I left (Even though they were about to sit down to supper). Then me and Andrew went to a movie and then hung out at his place for a while.

Then I realized that it was midnight and didn't know if I should go to my aunts or not because I didn't have a key. So either I go there late and wake them up and have them yell at me, or risk staying at my own house for the night and calling them in the morning and having them yell at me for not telling them where I was all night. It was quite the predicament.

I was going to call Jess earlier but I couldn't remember her number and I didn't have it with me. So when I finally got home I found her number and called her up. She's great for stuff like that. So I explained the situation and we talked for almost 2 hours. Very cool.

So I guess you're wondering how things turned out and how much they yelled at me right?

Well, they called me early this morning to tell me they were going to church and that they wanted me to make a dinner reservation for all of us. They said they would all come over after church and we'd go out for a bit and then to supper. No yelling, No awkwardness. Nothing. At. All. It was all very strange and yet I'm glad.

So I guess the moral of the story is if you walk away angry, you get taken out to dinner the next day?



the shadow | random | the glow

this one was written August 22, 2004 @ 7:49 pm by dee