glow
Happy Days And Ad's Appearing Everywhere

Feeling a little better tonight. I have now officially bought and paid for my ticket home. I even started boxing some things up today. I'm very proud of myself.

I was boxing up some of my books (which now fill just more than a 2 cube box) and I realized just how many of them I haven't had a chance to read yet. As much as I'm dreading moving back to a place with very few of the luxuries I've become accustomed to, I am totally excited about having the chance to read the third of the books I've bought and haven't gotten around to reading yet.

I also got a call from my sister V today. She said she got the care package from me in the mail today. I went to the dollar store last week and picked up a bunch of fun toys for the kids and some treats for V and J as well. I thought it would be more fun to wrap them all individually so I got some wrapping paper as well. It didn't cost a lot and it didn't take long to get there either. V said Sai loved all the little toys I sent. I got to talk to him today too. I love talking to him on the phone. He's so well spoken for such a little person. He said his favorite thing was the ball with the snake in it because it was looking at him. I could just eat him up! Sweet little thing.

I love sending little care packages to people. It's awesome to get something in the mail other than just bills and advertisments. And when you do get something in the mail that's hand written, isn't it always the first thing you open?

I miss the days of pen pals and love letters. People don't do that enough anymore. Our parents and grandparents have boxes of treasured memories. Letters and notes sent by loved ones and significant others. What are we going to leave... our hard drives? Emails and phone calls are nice, but it's just not the same.

Send something to someone you love. A card, a note, a letter, a gift. Anything. It's the thought that counts.



the shadow | random | the glow

this one was written June 29, 2004 @ 12:49 am by dee