glow
You Used To Hang The Moon

Dear You-Know-Who,

What am I supposed to do when a person who's supposed to be a role model, teaching right from wrong tells me they are lying?

It's not a big lie. It's not even significant, which is why I'm having so much trouble with it. What's worse is you're asking me to lie for you.

The only reason I can think of that most people lie is to save their own skin when they know they've done something that is wrong. If you know it's wrong and it's over something you have claimed is insignificant why bother?

I hate that it's always like this. I hate that I'm the one that has to be responsible and lead by example. I hate that I'm the one who has to be the encourager and the protector. I hate that I'm the one that can't ever get upset around you because it makes you sad. I hate that you turn everything around so it's about you. I hate that I feel guilty for bringing up anything I'm frustrated about.

Mostly I'm hurt that you're not the person I thought you were. I'm sad that I used to look up to you and now I can barely look you in the eye. I want this to be different. I want this to go away. You can still fix this.

Please, just remember that your actions affect others.

- Dee



the shadow | random | the glow

this one was written December 06, 2004 @ 9:09 pm by dee