glow
Catching Z's and Throwing Fits

Fuck this place. Seriously.

Tonight was stressful and discouraging at best. A truer discription would probably include me almost in tears and seriously considering quitting... as in... giving in my notice tonight.

Our shift was left in terrible shape by the previous shift, which left all the management in terrible moods. Not only did they have to clean it up but they will be the ones to get in shit when it doesn't get done. So they are taking it out on the clerks. And there is a generally tense atmosphere in the office tonight.

But the main thing that's bugging me tonight is something different.

Last week Michelle and I were down in meats. It got a little out of control, so they sent me down to help her out and get things going again. We cleaned it all up and were having lots of fun too, joking around with each other.

Fast forward to this week, I spent the past two days down in the meat office, first with Gracie (the temp) and the second night with Karl. Both nights went relatively smoothly. It's a casual atmosphere and we were getting the job done and having a good time joking around and what not.

Tonight I come in. I am pretty well rested and ready to work. I assume that I will be going down to meats again tonight. Tonight is Michelle's night to be down there. So I figured it would be me and her, same as last week.

Apparently Connie had been told by our boss -who wasn't even in tonight and therefore had no real say in who goes where- that I was not to go down to meats with Michelle, under any circumstances. But because of the limitations of the Temp staff and the new hires, it would have to be someone experienced with the new system in order to keep everything running smoothly. So that means either Karl, Connie or myself.

I have no problem going to any desk they need me at. I always get the job done with as much integrity as possible considering the situation. Both Karl and Connie on the other hand hate it down there. So why do I have to stay up here? Michelle asked Connie who said she didn't know. Later I heard her having whispered conversations with Karl, and three of the four TL's on shift. It was only after much hushed discussion that she exclaimed that she would go to meats. Karl was suprised and she looked at him and said "Well, who else is going to go?!" She knew I would go in a second. So she volunteered me to watch over the new hires instead.

My biggest problem with this is that no one will tell me what's going on.

Everyone else seems to know, but no one will say. How can I defend myself or appologize or rectify the situation if I don't even know what the hell is going on? Where's the team attmosphere I keep hearing about? Where's the respect?

Michelle has heard rumors that it has something to do with my "goofing around" with her down there. I have a feeling on the other hand that our boss (whom I feel is very unprofessional at times) is holding against me what happened the other day regarding our stats and the pay I never received and never will. It's hard to say at this point, but I would like to get some answers. This place is such a joke.

...

...

Ok so later that night I finally worked up the courage to talk with my boss about what was going on. I told her I had been hearing rumors that she didn't want me in meats anymore and wondered if I had done something wrong. She told me that it wasn't anything personal, she just didn't want certain pairings of people in certain areas. She told me that it wouldn't be fair to the shift to have two good clerks at the same desk and leave the others all "suffering" because of it. Which was a pretty good complement considering she never really complements anyone. She also appologized for being rude about the whole pay thing earlier this week. So... I guess I'm a little less pissed off than I was earlier when I wrote the first half of this. Now it's sleep time.



the shadow | random | the glow

this one was written 2004-01-10 @ 8:56 am by dee