glow
If I Ran The World...

So I made myself a new banner today, its about as cool as I am (read:lame). So hooray for you for joining me. What to talk about...

I'm really feeling very retarded today actually. Everytime I make a banner I feel like my entry has to be so awesome but today especially I don't really have a lot to say.

I've been dealing with the student loan people who are screwing me around as usual. They have lost my paperwork more than once, they have taken out more than one payment in a month and refused to give it back or use it as the next months payment... and they keep sending me threatening letters about how its all my fault. I just want to pay it off.

----------------------------------------

In other news, I was sitting at work last night, listening to other peoples conversations as usual. Of course the conversation turned to the strike and how if the company weren't so cheap they'd pay their employees respectable amounts. Personally I think they are all paid pretty well and theres lots of overtime. I think part of the problem is that a lot of them are lazy. They do the absolute minimum required to keep their jobs. Another part of the problem is lack of communication between management and the union. Also the fact that the management just doesn't care doesn't help. Stupid work. So I came up with a list of things I would do differently if I owned this multi billion dollar company.

This is of course assuming I could get rid of all the rejects that work there now and start fresh.

There needs to be standard operating proceedures and they need to be followed.

Work standards should be insentive based. They should get bonuses based on performance.

No janitorial, maintenance, food service personnel would be contracted out. It would all be internal.

All departments (grocery, produce, meats, dairy and frozen) would be in separate but connected buildings so that extensions could be added as needed. Also there would be less whining from the union staff about where they were stationed.

There would be an onsite daycare.

I would like for there to be access to a gym, preferable onsite.

New hires would be trained by managment not union staff who are just looking to do as little as possible for a day or two.

New hires would be trained in ALL departments and after three months they would be trained on forklift, loading, utility.

There would be a good medical benefits program.

The vending machines would be stocked with healthy alternatives and everything would be reasonably priced... considering we are a supermarket warehouse, you'd assume our snacks would be cheap. (600ml pop is currently $1.50.... WHATS UP WITH THAT?!)

Instead of the paper sticker orders we currently use all orders would be selected using scan guns. This would help with inventory and environmental waste.

Employees would get christmas bonuses, stock options or profit sharing and some kind of discout at the supermarkets that we supply.

And I'd buy the world a puppy.

Yeah I know a lot of that sounds like an unrealistic wish list but the way I figure it, happy employees = productive employees. Currently we have hired 150 new employees (in the past two months) and have fired at least 50 of them already. If the turn-over rate weren't so high we'd be wasting a lot less money training and blah blah blah...

Anyway for not having a lot to say today I guess I said a lot.

Why do I feel like I'm always complaining? I've got to come up with something else.



the shadow | random | the glow

this one was written 2003-04-11 @ 9:39 am by dee