glow
A Freak Out Story

Alright Alright. SO I promised to tell you why life sucked lately. So here I am to tell the story.

Firstly, I don't know if I mentioned it before but we have been having some really strange weather lately. The other day it was freezing rain, then just (pouring) rain. So it was icey and very wet. Our gutters are not working right so it was all dripping out on to the driveway, which leads to the side of the house, where the basement windows are. The windows that just got re-done. The window that my dad told them to raise just a little so he could seal it with something... The window that wasn't attached properly when it was raining... I think you can see where this is going. So the laundry room got a little wet.... (think puddles). No problem its just the laundry room. No major damage. I mention it to the old man who says "there's nothing I can do until spring." Ok.. a little wierd but still no problem. I go to work, come home tired and ready for bed, step into my room with a slosh. My whole bedroom floor is wet. Why? because I live in the basement in the only room adjacent to the laundry room. And being as how my room is sooooo small as to only fit my bed, there is no room for storage, so everything I own has been stored on the floor or under the bed (which is also under the floor). Everything is wet. Some stuff is ruined because it's been sitting, soaking up water all night. So I have to stay up late to clean that up. Not enough sleep.

I go to work anyway that night. My boss calls me into the office. Which is quite intimidating because she is a very intimidating person. Also she is the person who told me that I "can't read the paper at work"... but I "can just sit there and do nothing". So I go in a little worried that I screwed up somehow.

Me: "Whats up?"

Her: "Before I say anything I want you to know that this conversation shouldn't leave this room because it might cause problems if anything is said before everything is finalized."

Me: "yeah sure, no problem."

Her:"So are you interested in working here full time."

Me: (thinking) Well duh! I did put in an application yes? "Yeah I am"

Her: "If we hire you, we don't know what days yet or if you'd be on 8 hour or 12 hour shifts, but it would be nights"

Me: "Yeah I'm pretty flexable with that. It shouldn't be a problem"

Her: "Ok good. If you get hired, you'd still be doing the running and we would eventually train you on the desk. But mostly we would want you to keep doing what you're doing... If you get hired"

Me: (thinking) WHAT? I DON'T DO ANYTHING?! And Whats with this 'if' stuff? "... Ok..."

Her: "If we hire you, and we most likely will, it will be near the end of this month."

Then thinking that I should really mention my plans I say "I also want to mention that I am planning to go back home in May for a trip. I just want to let you know now."

Her: "Oh... well I don't know if that would be possible because as a junior person on staff you wouldn't get vacation days until next year."

Me: (thinking) NEXT YEAR? "(silence)"

Her: "You'd only be going for a week right?"

Me: (thinking) If I say that maybe I can at least get that? "Yeah..."

Her: "Yeah I don't think that could work at all."

Me: "Well is there a possiblity that you could keep me on as a temp for a while and rehire me full time after I get back?"

Her: "Well... See what you can do about the vacation and get back to me ok? and don't tell anyone here yet, even if you're excited about it."

Me: (thinking) WHAT am I in kindergarten? I can't contain myself long enough not to say anything? I'm supposed to be that excited that you don't want me to see my family ever?!

So they want to hire me so long as I don't see my family or friends for a whole year. And keep doing NOTHING (being the go-fer slave) until eventually they decide to train me. So I'm a little frustrated.

So I stumble through the rest of my shift, go home and tell everyone I know and ask what to do.

They all tell me different things. I freak out.

The END



the shadow | random | the glow

this one was written 2003-02-06 @ 7:24 am by dee