glow
Make Someone's Day Brighter!

[11/03/05 Note: This page will be updated once I received 2 pledges by readers of this journal. Any amount will do. Be someone's hero, pledge today!]

Hello Friends,

So here we are, exactly 55 days, 7 hours and 54 minutes from Christmas, some of us already thinking of parties, presents, and christmas plans. Some of us not quite there yet, still trying to get through November. I'm usually not one to pull out the Christmas decorations before Halloween has come and gone (unlike many of our famous retail stores) but, I do have to ask you to think about it today.

Every year, while we are busy finding that perfect gift for our loved ones, trying to find the time to attend all the parties and gatherings, there are people who can't afford these same luxuries we feel so entitled to. So my school's Student's Association started hosting a fundraiser to help combat this issue. Every year since 1990, the SA has been assisting students in financial need to have a happier holiday season by providing them with a grant. Last year alone, the Adopted Family program assisted 42 families and disbursed more than $10,000 in grants and gifts.

Over the past 15 years the program has grown to serve more-and-more families - with each donation making a major impact in the lives of the recipients. Last year they received a touching letter from a student, and mother of two:
"I just wanted to extend my thanks and appreciation for being selected as one of the Students' Association Adopted families. It is nice to see that in this day and age that there are caring and generous people, and during the Christmas season it is a generosity that warms my heart and makes me appreciate being part of the Grant MacEwan family. As a full-time single parent and full-time student it is the caring attitudes of others that makes me realize that I can reach my goals and that there is a helping hand out there when I need it."

Now, you may be thinking "How can I help?" and I'm here to give you the answer. At the end of November, teams of four, made up of students, SA and college staff will converge at a local bowling hall to bowl a game, and have a good time, as they help student families in need. The teams set out to gather pledge money from friends, family and co-workers in the pursuit of this worthy cause. I happen to be one of those bowlers. My team "The PinGuins" is looking to personally raise more than $1000 for this great charity. So I am asking you, my friends, to step up and be a part of this.

There are several ways in which you can pledge:

1. You can make a pledge of $0.25 per pin/point. This means if my score is 100, you pledge $25.
2. You can make a base pledge and double it if my score is over 100.
3. You can make a flat pledge amount.

Some things to note before making your pledge:

* I haven't been bowling in almost 3 years.

* The last time I was bowling my score was well under 100.

* In fact, I was beaten by a 9 year old child.


I will be accepting Cash, Cheques, Money Orders and PayPal. Please email me


Before November 15 if you're interested. Or click the paypal link below. (Be sure to include your mailing address if you'd like a tax receipt.)

Please join me in supporting this worthy cause!

Thanks,

-Dee



the shadow | random | the glow

this one was written October 30, 2005 @ 4:24 pm by dee